It Aint So Awful, Falafel. It Ain't So Awful, Falafel Book Review 2019-02-23

It Aint So Awful, Falafel Rating: 7,3/10 1406 reviews

It Ain’t So Awful, Falafel

It Aint So Awful, Falafel

With all conflicts going on all over the world and so many people far from their country by choice or by force. The book also provides a peek at a moment in history when relations between Iran and the U. After a two-year stay, she and her family moved back to Iran and lived in Ahvaz and Tehran. A poignant yet lighthearted middle grade debut from the author of the best-selling Funny in Farsi. On November 4, 1979, Iranian students, angry that President Carter allowed the shah to come to the United States, take a group of Americans hostage.

Next

It Ain't So Awful, Falafel by Firoozeh Dumas

It Aint So Awful, Falafel

It sounds very dramatic, but this book is more meandering than that. Even though I lived the 1970s I was busy raising a family and they were my world at the time. Hand this fun book to readers who enjoyed Budhos' Tell Us We're Home, Ross' Kiki and Jacques, Senzai's Saving Kabul Corner or even Traci Jones' Finding My Place and tell them to see if their parents have the Saturday Night Fever soundtrack to play while they are reading it! The narrator is a wonderfully intelligent and optimistic Iranian girl. I must say I liked this middle grade novel even better. Maybe it really ain't so awful, Falafel. Zomorod Cindy Yousefzadeh tells of her hilarious, lonely, and insightful experiences in America in her witty, comedic, and relatable voice. After a rocky start, Cindy has great friends and feels she's blending in though she's often mistaken for Mexican.

Next

Everything MCBA! Massachusetts Children's Book Award 2018: It Ain't So Awful, Falafel by Firoozeh Dumas

It Aint So Awful, Falafel

Even puka shell necklaces, pool parties, and flying fish can't distract Cindy from the anti-Iran sentiments that creep way too close to home. The Iranian hostage crisis during the Carter administration spurs a sudden mob mentality against Iranians. Thanks to the author for sharing some of her experiences through an entertaining and enlightening story. Cindy herself is just trying to get through junior high, and thank goodness for her best friends, because hatred and prejudice against the Middle East and Iran is heating Zomorod would rather be called Cindy. This is a nominee for the Florida Sunshine State award grades 3-5. Immigrants from Iran, Cindy Zomorod Yousefzadeh and her parents move from Iran to Compton to Newport Beach, California, and begin living the great American dream.

Next

Review: It Ain't So Awful, Falafel by Firoozeh Dumas

It Aint So Awful, Falafel

I wish I could say that I was surprised, but to see the sentiments of this book repeated throughout our history is exactly why books like this are so important. Vocabulary Activity Writing about a new vocabulary word can help you understand the word. Dumas clearly describes the cultural and political changes in Iran and the nation's complicated history with the U. Several friends and neighbors look out for the family, providing kindnesses small and large. They've just moved to Newport Beach and it's the late 1970s, when the Iran Hostage Crisis is just about to hit the news. Zomorod who changes her name to Cindy is from Iran. I will encourage everyone I know to read it.

Next

It Ain't So Awful, Falafel

It Aint So Awful, Falafel

I, too, remember watching the nightly news and hearing about how many days the people had been in captivity, and remember how it affected the election that year. Readers who are interested in this part of the world or the history here would do well with which is about the Turkish revolutions; it might be over the heads of middle grade readers, but it certainly wouldn't be for all. It's just as important - actually more important. It's just as important - actually more important. Firoozeh Dumas is a New York Times bestselling author born in Abadan, Iran, and who moved to Whittier, California at the age of seven. Desperate to belong in a foreign country, Zomorod Yousefzadeh is tired of who she is and that is exactly how she felt when she changed her name to Cindy.

Next

It Ain't So Awful, Falafel by Firoozeh Dumas

It Aint So Awful, Falafel

It's not even the whole truth. It reminds us of the common bonds we share as human beings, of the value of the freedoms we have as Americans and the responsibility we have to use those freedoms to promote life, liberty and happiness in the lives of those around us. Besides her own crisis of trying to fit in, there is a word wide crisis instigated by her own home country--Iran. Cindy herself is just trying to get through junior high, and thank goodness for her best friends, because hatred and prejudice against the Middle East and Iran is heating up. This story of an Iranian middle school student living in California in the 70s is a perfect balance of serious, important themes and laugh-out-loud funny moments and imagery. She then makes a friend who lives next door and her name is coincidentally Cindy too. However, I did like the nitty gritty.

Next

It Ain’t So Awful, Falafel — Stone Soup

It Aint So Awful, Falafel

What a beautiful semi-autobiographical account of an Iranian girl living in California in the late 1970s! Even mood rings and puka shell necklaces can't distract Cindy from the anti-Iran sentiments that creep way too close to home. The life you're living right now will someday be history. Read a Sample of this Book. I really liked the book and will highly recommend it to our students when school starts. At the same time it tells the story of my home country in a period that changed everything for it and us the people. It takes a village to raise a child. After a rough start, she begins to find true friends.

Next

It Ain't So Awful Falafel

It Aint So Awful, Falafel

A boy throws tomatoes at a girl. It is exquisitely relatable, and I would be hard-pressed to find a better way to express to children the importance of community, openness, love, and support. The author's lively writing style and endearing main character are what keeps the novel afloat, because the lengthy, stilted, almost history-textbook commentary between characters on the subject of the Shah, the hostages, and Iranian history and culture are just clunky. This changes Cindy's family's life and her father loses his job. But lots of adults my age would like the trip down memory lane. I laughed a lot, it had its sad moments too.

Next

It Ain't So Awful, Falafel Book Review

It Aint So Awful, Falafel

خنده دار هم اصلا اصلا نبود. But when unrest in Iran turns into an American , Cindy begins to catch glimpses of an uglier side of the Land of the Free. It Ain't So Awful, Falafel speaks to the heart. This book nicely conveys a message about being unique with a middle school twist on it. When the political situation in Iran becomes tense, Cindy is often asked to tell about her country, but when hostages are taken, some people at school give her a hard time, and a few nasty things happen at her home, too, although she and her father hide this from her mother. I really enjoyed this read! Once the neighbors find out about the display of hate, will they rally around Cindy's immigrant family? She strives to help them fit in, despite sometimes bristling at the responsibility.

Next